The World Crafts Council was founded by Ms.Aileen O.Webb, Ms.Margaret M.Patch, and Smt.Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay at an international meeting at the University of Colombia,New York City, United States of America,on 12 June,1964,as a non-governmental,and non-profit organization to maintain, strengthen,and ensure the status of crafts as a vital part of cultural life,and to promote the human values of the crafts and a sense of fellowship among the craftspeople around the world.The World Crafts Council is the only body setup to support the aspiration of the world’s craftspeople, whether in maintaining honorable inherited traditions,or in extending frontiers by experiment and innovation.

A category from its early days,WCC is now recognized as an NGO affiliated with UNESCO in category A of non-governmental organizations.From the start,the Council established close and friendly relations with UNESCO.Members of the latter’s staff have frequently attended WCC conferences.The WCC has been engaged in various tasks on requests of UNESCO for occasional meetings,etc

The main objective of the World Crafts Council is to strengthen the status of crafts in cultural and economic life.The Council aims at promoting fellowship among craftspersons by offering them encouragement,help and advice.It fosters and assists cultural exchange through conferences,international visits (by craftspeople),research study,lectures, workshops,curated travelling exhibitions,and other activities.As well,the aim of the WCC shall be to foster wider knowledge and recognition of the craftspeople’s work with due regard to the separate cultural and national backgrounds and tradition of its members.In carrying out these principles, the Council shall consult with governments,national and international institutions,societies and individuals.

The World Crafts Council is organized into the following five regions:

  • Africa

  • Asia-Pacific

  • Europe

  • North America

  • South America

The World Crafts Council is structured as a federation of National crafts organizations.Membership is available - only for two National Entities from each country – such as a group, association,society or governmental agency,which is accepted by the General Assembly of the Council.Each region elects its President,Vice-Presidents,Advisors to form a Regional Board of Directors.